2012  National Teaching Awards


The National Teaching Awards is a prestigious event held by the Department of Basic Education, in recognition of excellence in teaching.  Through this platform the Department of Basic Education acknowledges and encourages dedicated and caring teachers in their efforts to develop each learner into South Africa’s effective and functioning citizens.


The 13th National Teaching Awards were held at Gallagher Convention Centre in Midrand on 7 March 2013.


NAPTOSA congratulates all finalists and winners in the various categories.


NAPTOSA wishes to salute all schools and teachers who participated and acknowledges their extraordinary efforts in ensuring that quality teaching and learning prevails at our schools.


The NAPTOSA members listed below, have done us proud and excelled in the different categories.



Excellence in Primary School Teaching

Winner - Julie-Ann Lendrum – Winchester Ridge Primary School (GP)

Excellence in Primary School  Leadership

Third Position

Lynette Winifred Breytenbach – Clarence Primary School (KZN)


Johny Kaye Munro – Transkei Primary School (EC)

Life Time Achievement


Pieter Thomas Safers – Kamdeboo Primary School (EC)

Kedibone Bernadette Radebe – Iketsetseng Comprehensive School (FS)

Margaret Green – Victory Park Primary School (Mpumalanga)

Excellence in Technology –enhanced Teaching and Learning

Winner- Anita Van Vuuren – Universitas Primary School (FS)

Third Position

Warren James Sparrow- Rodenbosch Boys Preperatory School (WC)


Percy Human – Glenada Primary School (GP)

Duma Dhillah Tumo Thanduxolo Ndlumbini – Willowvale Junior Secondary School (EC)

Michael Lemmetjies – Roodepan Primary School (NC)

Hector van Aardt, Lousia Hendrina Brits & Denise Maria Wolmarans (Limpopo)