The National Teaching Awards 2014


The National Teaching Awards is an initiative of the Department of Basic Education. Each year the Department publically acknowledges and encourages dedicated and caring teachers in their efforts to develop learners as valuable citizens of our Country.

These teachers are honoured at a prestigious event held annually. This event focuses public attention on the positive aspects of education, thereby raising the public image of the teaching profession.

 The 15th National Teaching Awards was held in Johannesburg on the 6th of March 2014. This was broadcast live on national television, to afford the public an opportunity to appreciate these dedicated teachers.

NAPTOSA congratulates all nominated teachers, the finalists as well as the winners.

The following NAPTOSA members were amongst prize winners in various categories and have done NAPTOSA proud:


Excellence in Teaching Science:

Mrs. Wendy Horn                               The Settlers High School                    Western Cape

Ms. Kira Watson                                 Glenvista High School                        Gauteng


Excellence in Secondary School Leadership:

Mr. Adonis Vassos Antoniou               Mondeor High School                         Gauteng

Mrs. Anca Swart                                 Hoerskool Schoonspruit                     North West


Lifetime Achievement Award:

Mr. Martinus Jacobus Coetzee          West Rand School                              Gauteng