Closing date for nominations - 31 July  2013



The National Teaching Awards (NTA) are one of the ways in which the Department of Basic Education acknowledges and encourages dedicated and caring teachers in their efforts to develop each learner as a citizen of a democratic, non –racial and non-sexist South Africa.

This is the 14th year for the National Teaching Awards and two new categories have been added to the existing 8 categories.  These are “Excellence in teaching Mathematics” and “Excellence in teaching Science”.


The objectives of the Ministry of Basic Education through the National Teaching Awards are to:

·         Focus public attention on the positive aspects of Education, thereby raising the public image of the teaching profession.

·         Recognise and promote excellence in teaching performance.

·         Honour dedicated creative and effective teachers and schools.

·         Encourage best practice in schools.

·         Afford South Africans the opportunity to publicly say thank you for outstanding teams or individual teachers in schools.


Categories and Awards


Information relating to the categories, criteria and the nomination forms are contained in booklets that will be sent to schools soon by the DBE. This information will also be available on the Department of Basic Education website in June 2013. DBE website: www.education.gov.za


The categories are:

·         Excellence in Primary School Teaching

·         Excellence in Secondary School Teaching

·         Excellence in Primary School Leadership

·         Excellence in Secondary School Leadership

·         Excellence in Grade R Teaching

·         Excellence in Special Needs Teaching

·         Excellence in ICT – Enhanced Teaching

·         Lifetime Achievement  Award

·         Excellence in teaching Mathematics (new)

·         Excellence in teaching Science (new)


Awards are presented at the following stages:

·         District finalists: Certificates of Excellence

·         Regional/Cluster finalists: Certificates of Excellence

·         Provincial finalists: Certificates of Excellence

·         National finalists: Certificates of Excellence


NAPTOSA encourages its member to participate in the 2013 – National Teaching Awards.