INsight Magazine


Photo Gallery

The National Teaching Awards - 2015



The National Teaching Awards is one of the ways in which the Department of Basic Education publicly acknowledges and encourages dedicated and caring teachers in their efforts to develop South African learners to become effective and functioning citizens.

The National Teaching Awards was launched by Professor Kadar Asmal, former Minister of Basic Education in 2000. This year, marks the 15th year that the Department of Basic Education have been honouring excellence in teaching. The 15th National Teaching Awards ceremony was held in Johannesburg on 7 March 2015. This prestigious event honours the efforts of dedicated teachers and focuses public attention on the positive aspects of education, thereby raising the public image of the teaching profession.

NAPTOSA is a professional teachers’ union for teachers who are passionate about teaching and place the education of the child first.  NAPTOSA members support life-long learning and participate in Professional Development throughout their careers.


NAPTOSA congratulates all teachers, those nominated for awards, the finalists, as well as the winners.The NAPTOSA members listed below, have done themselves and the Union proud and have excelled in different categories:

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Mr. Ganasen Reddy

Glenhaven Secondary - KZN
Excellence in Mathematics (FET) Third Position: Mr Moegamat Wynford Victoria Park High - EC
Excellence in Primary School Teaching

Third Position: Mr Llewellyn Aiken

Finalist : Nomathemba Ndlovu

Vooruitsig Primary - NC

Kwavulundlebe School for the Deaf - KZN

Excellence in Secondary School Teaching


Mr Isaac Langeveldt;

Ms Gabaoitse Joyce Kgomoelela


Swellendam Secondary- WC

Galaletsang Secondary - NC

Excellence in Technology -Enhanced Teaching Learning

Winner: Mrs Michelle van Wyk

Third Position: Mrs Elmarie Labuschagne

Finalist: Mr Kevin Boraine

Onze Rust Primary- FS

General Smuts High School - GP

Floors No 2 High School- NC

Excellence in Special Needs and Inclusive Teaching

Second Position: Mr Brendon Bussy Battswood Arts Centre- WC

Excellence in Special Needs and Inclusive Teaching

Third Position

Ms Adele Combrink

Ms Willemien van Velden

Ms Catherine Hauvette

Ms Caryn Reddy


Delta Park School - GP

Delta Park School- GP

Delta Park School - GP

Delta Park School - GP



 Advertisement PCEO Post North West 2018


Advertisement PCEO Post Gauteng 2018




NAPTOSA INsight Volume 12  Issue 1, April 2018 is now available for viewing: Go there


By being a member of NAPTOSA you automatically qualify for Multiply Starter at NO ADDITIONAL COST to your monthly NAPTOSA membership fee.

Multiply is a wellness and rewards programme that helps you to understand, track and improve your wellness and Multiply rewards you for participating in activities that promote your financial and physical wellness so that you can live life to the fullest.

[NAPTOSA Multiply Starter ]

NAPTOSA Ronbel Gap Cover 

Revised PAM 

Download Here